Make your own cookbook – I did

We have a friend getting married this weekend.  I am totally looking forward to the wedding.  We haven’t had an opportunity to get our dance on in a very long time.  Last week I attended the wedding shower for the bride.

I don’t want to brag or anything but I think my gift was the bestest ever.

I made a personalized, customized cookbook with my very own recipes (and a few from the future mother-in-law) using lulu.com.  The book turned out amazing.  I was so thrilled with the results.

Here’s a bit of how it worked out for me.

First off, I came up with the idea a bit late in the game.  I should have attempted creating the cookbook sooner than 1 week before the shower.  Even so, after spending some long hours in a row to get the book done in time to publish and ship the result was pretty spectacular.

I had some troubles figuring out the images when creating the book.  It’s not that it was the fault of the lulu software at all.  It was purely user dumbness, or the lack of not reading simple directions.  Once I got the images figured out the book creation was quite smooth.  They have specific templates for cookbooks which made it even easier to create.

Because of my late start I had to choose a faster shipping method, which cost quite a bit more than I expected to pay.  But, it was well worth the extra cost since the book arrived the day before the shower, in time for me to oogle it and show it off to my friends before wrapping it up as a gift.

I highly recommend using Lulu.com for your cookbook creation projects.  The cool thing with Lulu is that you can actually sell your books there too.  I haven’t looked into that a whole lot at this point but for those serious foodies out there that might be a neat option.

For your viewing pleasure…a picture of me with my first ever in print cookbook ‘Food That Tastes Good’.

Megan with Food That Tastes Good

January 20, 2009. Tags: , , , , , , , . Cooking, Projects.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a comment

Trackback URI