Working with what ya got

Considering I love to cook you’d think that one of my priorities would be making sure my kitchen was totally blinged out and gourmet.  How I wish it were. 

Maybe soon enough I’ll get my dream kitchen.

In the meantime, for the past 4 years I’ve been making-do.  I am not so good with the whole square footage measuring stuff, but I would guess my kitchen is less than 100 sq ft.  I have a 24″ electric stove that runs a bit hot in the oven, but overall works good.  I am also blessed to have a fairly large fridge compared to other suites in our apartment building.

Three or four years ago my husband brought home an old harvest gold portable dishwasher.  It has a butcher block top which has added to my useable work surface greatly.  Plus, now I don’t have dishpan hands.

Why am I showing you my piddly almost pathetic kitchen?

I guess to make a point.  You don’t have to have a gourmet kitchen in order to make good food.  I don’t even have nice dishes or fancy pots and pans really.  I would be willing to wager that there are a sad number of homes with gourmet or beautiful kitchens that go unused or are underused.

Take a look at my gourmet kitchen:

Kitchen

Now I am not saying that I would take my current kitchen over a gourmet kitchen.  Let’s be honest, I’d trade up any day.  Hopefully when we decide to buy a house it will have a great kitchen space, or potential to renovate and make the kitchen of my dreams.

January 21, 2009. Tags: , , . Cooking.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a comment

Trackback URI